Nevada Physical Therapy Board

3291 North Buffalo Drive, Suite 100 - Las Vegas, NV 89129
Phone (702) 876-5535 - Facsimile (702) 876-2097

FOREIGN EDUCATED PHYSICAL THERAPIST
EXAMINATION APPLICATION

Dear Applicant:

Enclosed please find the application for licensure in physical therapy in our Great State of Nevada! Please note
that Physical Therapists and Physical Therapist’s Assistants must have a Nevada license to practice physical therapy
in Nevada.

Per Board policy, fingerprint submissions expire 6 months after receipt unless an application is received. Any items
received in the Board office towards the licensure process (transcripts, etc.) will only be held for 6 months from the
date of receipt, unless an application is received. Board staff will not verify receipt of any items received until such
time an application has been received by the Board. It is in your best interest to complete the requirements in a
timely manner.

Please note that the Board office will only work directly with the applicant during the application process. We will
not discuss your application or status of licensure with prospective employers or recruiters. This is to protect your
privacy and to avoid confusion.

After mailing your application, please allow 10 days before contacting the Board for status. This will allow staff
sufficent time to create your database file and permanent file. Please make all inquiries for application status via
email at ptapplication@govmail.state.nv.us. Be sure to include your full name and last four numbers of your social
security number in your email. You may also call the Board office for status.

The application process takes approximately 3-4 weeks for endorsement candidates using the electronic
submission fingerprinting option, and approximately 6-8 weeks using the hard card fingerprinting option. These
are only estimates and not a guarantee of a licensure date.

Please update the Board with any changes to your residential address or phone numbers. Also, when you secure
employment in Nevada please provide the name of the Nevada facility, completed address, phone and fax
numbers. You may submit updates via fax, mail, or to the licensing assistant via the email provided above. Upon
licensure, a copy of your license will be faxed to your Nevada facility of record (if provided) which will allow you to
work. Please post a copy of the license until you have received the original in the mail.

If you have any questions, please contact us. We will be pleased to assist you in any way we can.
Sincerely,

The Nevada Physical Therapy Board Rev. 5/22/2018



NEVADA PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD
PLEASE PRINT LEGIBLY — FAILURE TO DO SO WILL RESULT IN THE APPLICATION BEING RETURNED
PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSURE APPLICATION

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME MAIDEN (or other name used)

herewith apply for licensure as a physical therapist / physical therapist’s assistant in accordance with the provisions of
Chapter 640, Nevada Revised Statutes and Chapter 640, Nevada Administrative Code.

Place of Birth Date of Birth
CITYy STATE MONTH-DAY-YEAR
Mailing Address:
STREET CITY STATE ZIP
Phone Numbers: HOME CELL
Email Address:
Are you a citizen of the United States? [ ] Yes [ 1 No Social Security Number:

Have you ever served in the military? [ ]Yes [ ]No List Branch (es):

Dates of service: From__ /  / to [/ Military Occupation Specialties?

HIGH
SCHOOL

PT/PTA
SCHOOL

COLLEGE

COLLEGE

OTHER

Photo of applicant taken
within 60 days of application HEIGHT______ WEIGHT
must be attached here.
Minimum 2 x 2 inches, EYE COLOR - HAIR COLOR
maximum 3 x 3. Photo must
clearly show facial features. Identifying Marks:
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Physical Therapy Experience
List your three most recent Physical Therapy Experiences. Indicate type of practice. List your position.

Dates Name Complete Address Phone Type Position
From/To

Have you taken the Physical Therapy Examination and did not receive a passingscore [ ] Yes [ ] No

If yes, please list the date of each attempt:

List the state(s) of previously held and current licenses in Physical Therapy and / or other health care fields:

Child Support Information: Please mark the appropriate response (failure to mark one of the three will result in denial of the
application).

| am not subject to a court order for the support of a child.

| am subject to a court order for the support of one or more children and am in compliance with the order or am in
compliance with a plan approved by the district attorney or other public agency enforcing the order for the repayment of
the amount owed pursuant to the order, or;

| am subject to a court order for the support of one or more children and not in compliance with the order or a plan
approved by the district attorney or other public agency enforcing the order for the repayment of the amount owed
pursuant to the order.

Has your application, license, registration, or certification to practice physical therapy in any jurisdiction ever been denied, revoked,
suspended, cited, fined, surrendered, restricted, limited or placed on probation? [ ]Yes [ ] No.

Have you ever been reprimanded or fined in relation to the practice of physical therapy? [ ]Yes [ ] No.
Is there any action pending? [ ] Yes [ ] No.

Have you ever had a problem related to the habitual use of alcohol or drugs or been diagnosed and/or treated for addiction?
[ 1Yes [ ]No.(Seeinstruction sheet for information regarding sealed records)

Have you ever been arrested for a violation of a Federal Law, State Law, or Municipal Ordinance?
[ 1Yes [ ]No. (Seeinstruction sheet for information regarding sealed records)

Have you ever been charged with a violation of a Federal Law, State Law, or Municipal Ordinance?
[ 1Yes [ 1]No.(Seeinstruction sheet for information regarding sealed records)

Have you ever been convicted of a violation of a Federal Law, State Law, or Municipal Ordinance?
[ 1Yes [ 1No. (Seeinstruction sheet for information regarding sealed records)

Have you ever been diagnosed, treated or hospitalized for a psychiatric or mental health condition that will result in your not being
able to practice the essential job functions of a licensed physical therapist/physical therapist assistant? [ ]Yes [ ] No.

Have you ever been diagnosed as having a physical or medical condition which will result in your not being able to practice the
essential job functions of a licensed physical therapist/physical therapist assistant[ ] Yes [ ] No.

A “Yes Answer” to any of the above questions will affect the processing of your application and may result in issuing a limited or
restricted license or denying your request for licensure. Failure to answer truthfully is grounds for a fraudulent applicant and may
result in denial of your request for licensure.

If the answer is yes to any of the above questions, give details on separate sheet.
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AFFIDAVIT OF

STATE OF

(Name of Applicant)

COUNTY OF

)

(Name of Applicant)

, being duly sworn, and under penalty of perjury, state:

1. That affiant has personal knowledge of the information contained herein and could testify to

same if called upon to do so.
2. That affiant is applying for a license to practice physical therapy in the State of Nevada.

3. That the information contained in the application to practice physical therapy is true and
correct.
4. That the photograph attached to the application to practice physical therapy is a true and

correct image of the affiant taken within the last sixty days.

(Signature of Applicant)

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me

This day of 20
(Notary Public)
My commission expires 20

Approve

Approve

Approve

Approve

Approve

0o o 0O o d

BOARD MEMBER APPLICATION REVIEW SECTION

Disapprove

Disapprove

Disapprove

Disapprove

Disapprove

[

O O 0O 0O

Chairman Date
Vice Chairman Date
Secretary/Treasurer Date
Board Member Date
Board Member Date
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LICENSING FEES

Application Fee for the Physical Therapist $325 (Non-refundable)

The above licensing fee is payable directly to the Nevada Physical Therapy Board.
We accept personal checks, money orders and cashier’s checks. We do not accept cash.

EXAMINATION FEES

National Physical Therapy Examination $400

http://www.fsbpt.orq/ExamCandidates/NatinoalExam(NPTE).aspx

When licensed, please indicate exactly how you want your name to appear on your license

(do not list a nickname or degree or title)

Before you mail in your application and materials, please verify that you have:

Completed the application legibly and completely;

Included the appropriate fee;

Included the completed jurisprudence examination;

Retained the application instructions;

Included the transcripts or have ordered them;

Ordered the license verifications;

Registered and paid for the National Physical Therapy Examination.

Nouhs,wnNe

MAIL THIS APPLICATION, FEE AND JURISPRUDENCE EXAM TO:

NEVADA PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD
3291 NORTH BUFFALO DRIVE, SUITE 100
LAS VEGAS, NV 89129
(702) 876-5535
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
NEVADA PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD
LICENSE APPLICATION VIA ENDORSEMENT

ALL INFORMATION REQUESTED MUST BE PRINTED AND COMMPLETE
APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED IF ILLEGIBLE OR INCOMPLETE

Application — Page One

1) Complete all information as indicated.

2) A US Social Security number is required to apply. The Alternate Identification Number (AIN) issued by the
Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy is not a substitute for the US Social Security number.

3) List all colleges attended, even if a degree was not obtained.

Application — Page Two

1) Physical Therapy Experiences. List your three most recent work experiences and/or clinical affiliations, whichever
three are most recent. Please provide complete addresses and phone numbers. Do not list work experiences
outside of the clinical affiliations (i.e. employment as a physical therapy technician).

2) Answer all questions listed, including child support section.

3) If you have ever been arrested, charged or convicted of a violation of a Federal Law, State Law or Municipal
Ordinance and have had your records sealed, you may answer “no” to these questions. However, you are required
to submit a letter to the Board explaining the incident(s) in detail (dates, charges and outcomes). As a licensing
body, we are authorized by Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 179.259(3) to receive sealed criminal records. NRS
640.160(1)(a) and 640.160(2)(g) allow the Board to deny a license if an applicant is found to have attempted to
obtain a license by material misrepresentation. It is in your best interest to disclose all arrests, charges and
convictions.

4) Complete the physical description section and attach a photograph taken within 60 days. The photo must be at
least 2 x 2, no larger than 3 x 3. A passport photo usually works best.

Application — Page Three

1) Review the information provided.
2) Indicate exactly how you want your name to appear on your permanent license (first, middle initial and last name,
or first and last only, etc.). This must be your legal name, no nicknames.

Application — Page Four

1) Complete the top section in the presence of a Notary Public. The Notary Public does not have to be in the State of
Nevada.

FINGERPRINTING. Email the Board at ptapplication@govmail.state.nv.us to request the fingerprinting information.
Please include your full name in your email so that we can establish a record in the office. Board staff will email you the
information to obtain fingerprinting. You are encouraged to begin this process before applying for licensure, however
do not begin this process unless an application will follow within 4-5 months.
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NEVADA PHYSICAL THERAPY BOARD
REQUIREMENTS FOR THE EXAMINATION APPLICANT

License Verification. Submit proof satisfactory to the Board of your licensure to practice as a physical therapist without
limitation in the country in which you were trained. Send a copy of the Verification of License form to the licensing
Board for completion. If the applicant provides proof that he/she was a citizen of the United States on the date of
his/her graduation from physical therapy school, this requirement may be waived. The applicant must prove, the the
satisfaction of the Board, they were a US citizen on the date of graduation. Also, mail to each jurisdiction in which you
are now, or were previously licensed in any healthcare related field. Please contact the receiving jurisdiction(s) to
determine if a fee is required. We will not accept faxes of verifications, nor will the Board verify your license on-line.
We require original license verifications received directly from the issuing bodies in sealed envelopes.

Transcripts. For every college attended (whether or not a degree was awarded), original transcripts in sealed envelopes
must be mailed to the Board office.

Jurisprudence Exam. Complete the provided jurisprudence (Law) Examination and return it to the Board office with the
completed application. We will return a copy of the graded examination to you. Please use the Practice Act (Nevada
Revised Statutes and Nevada Administrative Code) when taking this examination. All of the answers can be found in the
Practice Act. The Practice Act can be found on the Board’s website at www.ptboard.nv.gov, click on Practice Act. Be
sure to print the NAC and the NRS.

Credential Evaluation: Submit an evaluation of credentials from the FCCPT that states the education of the applicant is
substantially equivalent in content to an accredited educational program for physical therapy in the United States. We
do not recognize any other agency for credentials evaluations.

Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical Therapy (FCCPT):
511 Wythe Street

Alexandria, VA 22314

(703) 684-8406 phone

(703) 684-8715 fax

www. Fccpt.org

Demonstration of Proficiency in the English Language: Unless your native language is English and you graduated from a
program of physical therapy that was conducted entirely in the English language, demonstrate proficiency in the English
language by successfully completing the language tests administered by TOEFL/TSE Services. This is required whether or
not you hold a license in another jurisdiction. Our Board’s institution code is 9882. Passing scores on the computer-
based tests are as follows:

Reading 21 Speaking 26
Listening 18 Writing 24

A passing score in each section is required to be reported on one score report. The Board will not combine score reports
to achieve passing in all areas. We will not accept scores directly from the applicants. TOEFL/STSE will not report scores
that are more than 2 years old. We do not recognize any other agency for language proficiency testing.

TOEFL/TSE Services

Post Office Box 4151
Princeton, NJ 08541-6151
(609) 771-7100

www.ets.org

Page | 7



Register to sit for the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE). Go on-line to:

http://www.fsbpt.org/ExamCandidates/NationalExam(NPTE).aspx

This site is where you register and pay for the examination. If you are disabled according to the Americans with
Disabilities Act, please contact the Board office for the special accommodations form.

The PT examination is only offered on fixed dates, four times per year. Please visit the FSBPT website for information
on testing dates and registration deadlines:

https://www.fsbpt.org/ExamCandidates/NationalExam(NPTE)/RegistrationProcess.aspx

Once you have a completed licensure application on file, we will electronically contact the FSBPT and authorize your
registration. The FSBPT will send you an Authorization to Test Letter (ATT) letter to the email address you provided in
your registration. The ATT letter contains all of the information needed to schedule your examination. You may also
download the ATT letter from the “Status of My Request” section at the site where you registered.

Approximately 5-7 days after testing, candidates can get score information by going to the FSBPT website under “Status
of My Request”. It will either say “Score Received — Pass” or “Score Received — Fail”. Additionally, the FSPBT provides a
free score report to all candidates 10 days after the test. Please refer to the FSBPT Candidate Handbook for the details.
Please do not call the Board office, testing center or FSBPT for your results.

Upon receiving confirmation of passing the NPTE, your completed application will be placed on the next meeting agenda
of the Board. You will receive a certified letter of the location, date and time to appear. This is required as the
education and practice of physical therapy varies outside of the US, and the Board will need to review the work history
of the applicant as well as determine the length of possible probation needed to ensure the applicant has received the
proper training and oversight regarding patient safety, treatments, billing, etc. Probation requires supervision by
primary and secondary Board approved supervisors who attest they will remain on-site, co-sign all notes, and remain in
contact with the probationary licensee every day. The length of probation is determined by the year of graduation
length of practice, if any, in the country of training. The probationary period will range from 6 months to 3 years in
length, and is determined at the time the applicant appears before the Board.
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Nevada Physical Therapy Board
JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION FOR APPLICANTS

Per Nevada Administrative Code 640.040, all applicants for licensure must complete and pass a
jurisprudence examination. These questions cover the provisions of Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS)
and Nevada Administrative Code (NAC), Chapters 640.

These provisions are known as the Practice Act.

The answers to these questions can be found by reviewing the Practice Act.
Please follow the application instructions to download the Practice Act from the Board’s website.

Circle one answer for each question. Return the original completed examination to the Board with

your application. The examination will be reviewed by the Board office and you will be mailed a
graded copy of the examination.

A minimum of 15 correct answers is required to pass this examination.

1. A physical therapist may supervise a maximum of physical therapist
assistants.
a. 1
b. 2
C. 3
d. 4
2. All licensees must report any changes to their residential address or primary professional
address within days after the change.
a. 30
b. 60
C. 45
d. 15
3. All licensees must report residential address changes and primary professional addresses to
the Board:
a. Verbally
b. In writing
C. In person
d. All of the above

Applicant Name:
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4. Unless renewed, all licenses expire annually on

a. July31®
b.  The licensee’s birthday
C. 1 year after issuance each year
d.  June 30"
5. Licensees are required to obtain units of continuing education for the

annual renewal of their license.

a 1.0 units (10 hours)
b. .8 units (8 hours)

C 1.5 units (15 hours)
d 2.0 units (20 hours)

6. A licensee shall, within after providing treatment to a patient, indicate in
the record of the patient the treatment that was provided.

a. 72 hours
b. 5 days
C. 14 days
d. 24 hours
7. The Board has the authority to refuse to issue a license, refuse to renew a license, suspend

or revoke a license, place a licensee on probation and/or impose an administrative fine of
up to $5,000. Under what section is this located?

a. NAC 640.680
b. NRS 640.100
C. NRS 640.160
d. None of the above
8. Immediate supervision means that a person is to give aid, direction and

instruction to the person he is supervising.

Physically on the premises

Present onsite and immediately available within the treatment area
Within 30 miles of the facility

Available by cell-phone

o0 oo

Applicant Name:
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9. What does the term “primary professional address” mean?

a. Address where the licensee is practicing on any given day.

b. Address where a licensee practices physical therapy or carries out any other
activities relating to physical therapy for the majority of his working hours within a
consecutive 30-day period.

C. Address where the licensee works for the majority of time within the calendar year.

d. Address where a licensee practices physical therapy or carries out any other
activities relating to physical therapy for the majority of his working hours within a
consecutive 60-day period.

10. A physical therapist who supervises a physical therapist assistant who provides treatment to

a patient shall:

a. Provide the required treatment and reevaluate the patient not less than every fifth
day of treatment or within 10 days, whichever comes first.

b. Provide the required treatment and reevaluate the patient not less than every tenth
day of treatment or within 30 days, whichever comes first.

C. Provide the required treatment and reevaluate the patient not less than every
seventh day off treatment or within 21 days, whichever comes first.

d. Provide the required treatment and reevaluate the patient not less than every
fifteenth day of treatment or within 30 days, whichever comes first.

11. A physical therapist who supervises a physical therapist assistant who provides treatment to

a patient shall provide an evaluation before the patient is discharged, based upon the

availability of the patient. Under what section is this located?

a. NAC 640.680

b. NAC 640.055

C. NRS 640.162

d. NAC 640.592

12. A licensee can be disciplined for failure to cooperate in an investigation.

a. True

b. False

Applicant Name:
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13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

Applicant Name:

Alicensee is legally required to report to the Board any unlicensed, unauthorized,
unqualified or unethical practice of physical therapy.

a. True
b. False

A licensee shall prominently display his or her current license in all locations where he or she
practices physical therapy. Under what section can this provision be found?

a. NAC 640.800
b. NRS 640.100
C. NAC 640.560
d. NAC 640.120
A licensee shall provide medical records to a patient within business days

after receipt of a written request.

a. 5

b. 10
C. 30
d. 45

In what section can you find information regarding the term “professionally incompetent”?

a NAC 640.670
b. NRS 640.024
o NAC 640.550
d NRS 640.220

In what section can you find the term “unearned fee” defined?

a. NAC 640.985
b. NAC 640.340
C. NAC 640.670
d. None of the above

A licensee shall not engage in sexual activities with a patient unless:

The patient consents to the relationship

There was a preexisting relationship with that person
The employer agrees to the relationship

All of the above

o 0 oTw

Page | 12



19.

20.

Licensees are required to voluntarily report which of the following to the Board:

Q

o

Addiction to the use of a controlled substance

Any judgment or settlement in an amount of $5,000 or more on a claim involving
malpractice

The licensee is an impaired practitioner

All of the above

A physical therapist technician:

Means an unlicensed person who performs certain limited activities at the direction
of the physical therapist.

Must be immediately supervised by a physical therapist when the physical therapist
technician performs treatments related to physical therapy which have been
directed by the physical therapist.

May not perform any activity which requires the unique skills, knowledge and
judgment of a physical therapist.

All of the above.

| hereby attest that | answered the above questions, without assistance from any entity or individual.
| further attest that | reviewed the provided Practice Act to answer the above questions.

Print Name

Date

Signature
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THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT

Complete the top section of this form and mail to the Board of each state in which you are now or have
ever been licensed to practice Physical Therapy AND/OR any healthcare related field.
Contact the jurisdiction to ask if there are fees for this service.
(Make copies if needed)

Print Full Name
Address

City, State, Zip
License #
SIGNATURE

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY AN OFFICIAL OF THE BOARD

This is to certify that the records of the Board of
of the State of indicate the following:

Name of Licensee:

License Number:

License Type
(i.e. PT, PTA, CAN, etc.)
Effective Date :

Expiration Date :

License Status :

National Exam : (yes/no)

Licensed By : (exam/endorsement)

Disciplinary Action:

If yes, please provide information and supporting documentation.

Signed:
BOARD SEAL Title:
Date:

Please return the completed form, or equivalent verification to:

Nevada Physical Therapy Board
3291 North Buffalo Drive, Suite 100
Las Vegas, NV 89129
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